Search Creative Commons

Thanks must go to the good folks at Edshelf, especially Mike Lee and the Team for coordinating the whole sheebang, for being such awesome sharers! The Creative Commons information is a part of this presentation by

I first came across Search Creative Commons about three years ago while taking the SLAV (now SLAV/ SLV) Vic PLN course. It was good, but a little clunky and results were erratic and sometimes contained images that didn’t match the search parameters.

So I was pleasantly surprised when I made a visit there today. Wow! What a difference!

A really nice interface, clear search parameters, and further streamlining of searches make this a really powerful resource. But here’s that coolest thing ever – widgets!

You can create a widget that has all the information about the photo embedded RIGHT THERE!

So, here’s an example I made using my favourite teacher-librarian type search term – “frogs”.

The original search looked like this:

Search Creative Commons

Search Creative Commons

And the search results looked like this:

Search results for "frogs" on Fotopedia

Search results for “frogs” on Fotopedia

(It went to fotopedia because that’s what I had clicked on)

I thought that I would look more closely at the first photo of the Mink Frog (see, I did learn something!), so I clicked on the little black and white i in the bottom right-hand corner of the photo (you can’t see it in the example above because it’s a hot link).

Then I came to this:

Mink Frog dialog

Mink Frog dialog

 

You can see that I can access more information about the Mink Frog in Wikipedia, and the page has information about the artist, and the copyright, when the photo was uploaded and the size. AND there are two buttons – Download and Embed Photo.

So, I thought I would give Embed Photo a try, think that I might get a bit of HTML (a-la YouTube) that I could insert in this post…it’s SOOOOOO much better that that!

The embed code includes all the info you need to acknowledge the work, and to use it appropriately. Have a look at the embed dialog, and the finished result:

Embed dialog

Embed dialog

 

(Cheat) Widget - coz WordPress is a poo!

(Cheat) Widget – coz WordPress is a poo!

Pure genius!

3 responses to “Search Creative Commons

  1. And this is just what I want to know right now! Tomorrow I will have another look at Creative Commons Search (and see if I can learn about this “embedding” of which you talk).

      • You’re welcome. And of course I didn’t have time to check this out after all. I will now send myself a link to your blog so that I have it all in front of me next week, when I get some time.

Leave a Reply

