Week 8 – Presentation Tools

Key activities

1. Explore some of the following items:

Here is my Animoto video.
http://static.animoto.com/swf/w.swf?w=swf/vp1&e=1280645770&f=W65sz8sI2MuzLk0Ly2CfdQ&d=37&m=b&r=w&i=m&options=

Create your own video slideshow at animoto.com.

I found that the software was very slow, which was quite frustrating. May have been my parents’ poor bandwidth though!

Also, Animoto ‘wastes’ about 5 seconds at the start of the 30 sec free video, probably so that you want to upgrade to Pro. I could only fit 6 photos onto a 30 sec vid, plus a title shot. That’s 5 secs per photo. Mmmm.

See my Week 7 Glogster for my thoughts on that. Not impressed. Clunky.

So here is my Voice Thread. I can see lots of uses for this in education, particularly in Art, but also in English where you could all make comments about a photo, or clip from a movie, or a character image, and get the whole class involved in the conversation. Although, it is quite complex to set up. I like that you can have a single logon for the whole class, and they just have to pick their avatar to leave a comment. I really prefer software that makes you create an avatar and a username, and alter your settings on your first use. Then you can just go ahead and use it without having to go backwards and forwards to keep fixing things. Otherwise, I like it!

Pretty funny. I got my kids involved in this one, and I think they’ve made some really funny comments. 🙂

Ha! ToonDoo is fun!

Tale of Mif

 

I LURV Richard Buckland. I want him to come and setup a Wiki for me! Am a bit cranky that WikiSpaces is now commercial. Boo.

So I see that PBworks may be a great alternative to Wikispaces. That’s great, as we have a number of wikis set up at work, but they are no longer going to be viable becasue they are with Wikispaces.

I’ve used Wordle, but Tagxedo is SO much more versatile. Here is my Tagxedo using the reviews from my blog.

Blog reviews Tagxedo

Blog reviews Tagxedo

2. Make a Voicethread, animoto, glog, Wordle, Tagxedo, or ToonDoo on a topic of your choice. Link or embed the results in your blog. Help for embedding is available here.

3. Which is your favourite application and why?

The wikis are my favourite app from today, just because of Richard Buckland. If he was any more enthusiastic he would burst!

He made it seem so useful, but I think that he has one very important thing going for him – the students in his course, by and large, WANT to be there. So I think that in Secondary school, you really need to bring the WANT and the SKILLS to your class before you can get the results he is talking about.

4. How could these presentation tools by used by students and teachers?

Holey moley! What a question?! My brain is buzzing as to how these could be use in classes. Mostly I keep thinking of ways that OTHER teachers could use them in class, and how I can help facilitate that.

2 responses to “Week 8 – Presentation Tools

  1. Wow! What an extremely busy week. I like the way you have critically evaluated all of the tools, which means you’ll now which ones you want to come back to.

    Just with animoto, you can apply for a free edu account which gives you about 5 mins of video.

    Nice work on creating some fun resources.

  2. Thanks Judith. Actually, confession time. I did all that yesterday. 🙂 And cleaned the house with the kids! It was a fun ‘week’!

Leave a Reply

